

Minutes

Bush Fire Advisory Committee Annual General Meeting held
Monday 5 August 2024

Nannup SES, Sexton Way, Nannup

UNCONFIRMED COPY

Contents

1. DECLARATION OF OPENING/ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS/ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF	
COUNTRY:	2
2. ATTENDANCE/APOLOGIES:	2
2.1 Attendance	2
2.2 Apologies	3
3. ELECTION OF OFFICERS – PRESIDING MEMBER AND DEPUTY PRESIDING MEMBER:	3
4. APPOINTMENT OF CHIEF BUSH FIRE CONTROL OFFICER, DEPUTY CHIEF BUSH FIRE CONTROL OFFICER AND BRIGADE FIRE CONTROL OFFICERS:	4
4.1 The current presiding member will call for nominations for Chief Bush Fire Control Officer, Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officers	4
4.2 The current presiding member will request an honorarium for the Chief Bush Fire Control Offic and Deputy Bush Fire Control Officers.	
4.3 The current presiding member will call for nominations for Fire Control Officers	5
5. CLOSURE OF MEETING:	7

Bush Fire Advisory Committee Annual General Meeting Minutes – Monday 5 August 2024

1. DECLARATION OF OPENING/ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS/ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY:

The Presiding Member Cr Cheryle Brown declared the meeting open at 7.00pm.

The Presiding Member Cr Cheryle Brown acknowledged the traditional custodians of the land, the Wardandi and Bibbulmun people; paying respects to Elders past, present and emerging.

Presiding Member, Cr Cheryle Brown welcomed and introduced Lisa Atkinson to the meeting and requested permission from the attendees to record the meeting for the minutes.

Presiding Member, Cr Cheryle Brown asked the attendees to introduce themselves and provide their positions

2. ATTENDANCE/APOLOGIES:

2.1 Attendance

Councillors	Staff
Cr Cheryle Brown (Presiding Member)	David Taylor – Chief Executive Officer
Cr Patricia Fraser (Deputy Presiding Member)	Nathan Manning – Community Emergency Services Manager (CESM)
	Lisa Atkinson – Executive Support Officer

Members (Full Voting rights)
Robin Mellema – Chief Bush Fire Control Officer (CBFCO)
Mark Scott – Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer and Balingup Road FCO (DCBFCO)
Peter Hastie – Carlotta FCO
Gerald Brown – Cundinup FCO
Vic Lorkiewicz – East Nannup FCO
Nathan Manning – Nannup Townsite (CESM)
Leigh Fletcher -Nannup Brook FCO
Mike Vasey – North Nannup FCO
John Jonker – Peerabeelup Coastal FCO
Andrew McNab – Scott River/Lake Jasper FCO

Other Attendees (Non-Voting rights)

Bryce Edwards – Forest Products Commission (FPC)

Greg Hodgson - Forest Products Commission (FPC)

Steve Wood – Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions (DBCA)

2.2 Apologies

Members (Full Voting rights)

John Patman, Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer Darradup FCO (DCBFCO)

Carey Curtis – Nannup Brook FCO

Brett Fowler - Peerabeelup FCO

Other Attendees (Non-Voting rights)

Peter Thomas – District Officer - Department of Fire and Emergency Services (DFES)

Helen Holzheuer – Parks and Wildlife, Blackwood District (DBCA)

3. ELECTION OF OFFICERS - PRESIDING MEMBER AND DEPUTY PRESIDING MEMBER:

3.1 The current presiding member will call for nominations for Presiding Member and Deputy Presiding Member

COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:

The Bush Fire Advisory Committee elect Councillor Cheryle Brown as Presiding Member of the Shire of Nannup Bush Fire Advisory Committee.

Motion

The Bush Fire Advisory Committee elect councillor Cheryle Brown as Presiding Member of the Shire of Nannup Bush Fire Advisory Committee

I MOVED RODIII MEHEHIA ISECONDED MAKK SCOLL	MOVED Robin Mellema	SECONDED Mark Scott
---	---------------------	---------------------

CARRIED

COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:

The Bush Fire Advisory Committee elect Councillor Patricia Fraser as Deputy Presiding Member of the Shire of Nannup Bush Fire Advisory Committee.

Motion

The Bush Fire Advisory Committee elect councillor Patricia Fraser as Deputy Presiding Member of the Shire of Nannup Bush Fire Advisory Committee

MOVED Mike Vasey	SECONDED Robin Mellema	
		CARRIED

4. APPOINTMENT OF CHIEF BUSH FIRE CONTROL OFFICER, DEPUTY CHIEF BUSH FIRE CONTROL OFFICER AND BRIGADE FIRE CONTROL OFFICERS:

4.1 The current presiding member will call for nominations for Chief Bush Fire Control Officer, Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officers.

Robin Mellema – Chief Bush Fire Control Officer (CBFCO) advised he was stepping down.

John Patman was nominated for the position of Chief Bush Fire Control Officer and he accepted the nomination.

COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:

The Bush Fire Advisory Committee elect John Patman as Chief Bush Fire Control Officer for the Shire of Nannup.

Motion

The Bush Fire Advisory Committee elect John Patman as Chief Bush Fire Control Officer for the Shire of Nannup.

MOVED Nathan Manning	SECONDED Robin Mellema	
	CARRIE	•

CARRIED

Mark Scott and Mike Vasey were nominated for the positions of Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officers. Both accepted the nominations.

COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:

The Bush Fire Advisory Committee elect Mark Scott and Mike Vasey as Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officers for the Shire of Nannup.

Motion

The Bush Fire Advisory Committee elect Mark Scott and Mike Vasey as Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer for the Shire of Nannup.

MOVED Gerald Brown	SECONDED Mark Scott	
		CAPPIED

4.2 The current presiding member will request an honorarium for the Chief Bush Fire Control Officer and Deputy Bush Fire Control Officers.

COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:

The Bush Fire Advisory Committee request the Chief Bush Fire Control Officer and Deputy Bush Fire Control Officers receive an honorarium of \$1,500 and \$750 each respectively.

At 7.06pm Mark Scott, Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer and Mike Vasey, Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer, left the meeting after declaring financial conflict of interest in the final recommendation item

ACTION: Follow up on the form to be completed for the Declaration of Interest.

Motion

The Bush Fire Advisory Committee request the Chief Bush Fire Control Officer and Deputy Bush Fire Control Officers receive an honorarium of \$1,500 and \$750 each respectively.

MOVED Gerald Brown	SECONDED John Jonker
	CARRIED

At 7.08pm, Mark Scott, Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer and Mike Vasey, Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer, returned to the meeting.

4.3 The current presiding member will call for nominations for Fire Control Officers.

Current Fire Control Officers:

- Balingup Road (Mark Scott)
- Carlotta (Peter Hastie)
- Cundinup (Gerald Brown)
- Darradup (John Patman)
- East Nannup (Victor Lorkiewicz)
- Scott River/Lake Jasper (Andrew McNab)
- North Nannup (Mike Vasey)
- Nannup Townsite (Nathan Manning)
- Nannup Brook (Leigh Fletcher)
- Peerabeelup (Brett Fowler)
- Peerabeelup Coastal (John Jonker)

COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:	
The Bush Fire Advisory Committee elect	as Fire Control Officer for the Balingup Road
Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade.	
COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:	
The Bush Fire Advisory Committee elect	as Fire Control Officer for
the Carlotta Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade.	
COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:	
The Bush Fire Advisory Committee elect	as Fire Control Officer for
the Cundinup Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade.	

as Fire Control Officer for
as Fire Control Officer for
as Fire Control Officer for
as Fire Control Officer for
as Fire Control Officer for
ual Volunteer Bush Fire Brigades heir Fire Control Officers, BFAC
l Officers: re Brigade Brigade

MOVED Robin Mellema SECONDED Mark Scott

Nathan Manning (CESM) for Nannup Townsite Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade

Mike Vasey for the North Nannup Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade

Brett Fowler for Peerabellup Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade

Leigh Fletecher for the Nannup Brook Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade

John Jonker for Peerabeelup Coastal Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade

CARRIED

Robin Mellema thanked everyone and left the meeting at 7.11pm

5. CLOSURE OF MEETING:

The Presiding Member Cr Cheryle Brown declared the meeting closed at 7.12 pm